Zeiterion Staff & Board

Administrative Office:
(508) 997-5664
Mon – Fri 9:00am – 5:00pm

Box Office:
Temporarily operating off-site,
Please email or call:
boxofficeinfo@zeiterion.org
(508) 994-2900

Address
684 Purchase St.
New Bedford, MA 02740

STAFF

Rosemary Gill
Executive Director
rgill@zeiterion.org
Ext. 121

Laurel Berryman
Box Office Associate
lberryman@zeiterion.org
Ext. 151

Paula Cardoso
Box Office Manager
pcardoso@zeiterion.org
Ext. 132

Jason Choquette
Director of Production
jchoquette@zeiterion.org
Ext. 128

Brad Costa
Lead Designer
bcosta@zeiterion.org
Ext. 145

Laura Dropps
Assistant Superintendent
ldropps@zeiterion.org

Gretchen Hubert
Executive Assistant
ghubert@zeiterion.org
Ext. 112

Dori Rubbicco Legge
Director of Patron & Business Relations
dlegge@zeiterion.org
Ext. 123

Molly McCarthy
Development Manager
mmccarthy@zeiterion.org
Ext. 143

Nicole Downing Merusi
Senior Director of Development
nmerusi@zeiterion.org
Ext. 111

Ashley Moore
Director of Education and Community Engagement
amoore@zeiterion.org
Ext. 129

Greg Morton
Programming Associate
gmorton@zeiterion.org
Ext. 125

Sarah Mulvey
Assistant Box Office Manager
smulvey@zeiterion.org
Ext. 116

Elaine Murray
Staff Accountant
emurray@zeiterion.org
Ext. 120

Korey Pimental
Education Coordinator
kpimental@zeiterion.org
Ext. 122

Penny Pimentel
Director of Marketing
ppimentel@zeiterion.org
Ext. 127

Maria Poulos
Communication Manager
mpoulos@zeiterion.org
Ext. 146

Rhonda Rattenni
Bar Manager
rrattenni@zeiterion.org
Ext. 151

Mary Kate Sandler
Development Assistant
msandler@zeiterion.org

Jeff Taylor
Superintendent
jtaylor@zeiterion.org
Ext. 118

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Michael Tavares, Chair
Joseph Nauman, Vice-Chair
Christie Marotta, Treasurer
Frank Almeida, Secretary

Patricia Andrade
Deborah A. Baker*
William A. Burns
Gail Davidson
Rachel Deery
Bruce Duarte, Jr.
Peter Hughes
Lawrence Hunt*
Tali Kwatcher

Kate Mahoney
Patrick Murray
Harry Norweb*
Louis M. Ricciardi
Eve Rounds
Susan Sargent
Jamey Shachoy*
Jack Silva*
Jill Simoes
Alison Smart

Special Committee Members:

Monique Avila
Sara Ferreira
Beppie Huidekoper

*Emeritus

As of December 2019, Zeiterion Performing Arts Center welcomes Michael Tavares as the new Chair to its Board of Directors, formerly held by Peter Hughes, and appoints three new members: Patricia Andrade, Tali Kwatcher, and Patrick Murray. Additionally, Joseph Nauman will shift from Treasurer to Vice Chair, and existing board members Christie Marotta and Frank Almeida will step into the officer positions of Treasurer and Secretary, respectively. The Zeiterion Board of Directors now holds 23 members.

“We’re thrilled to have assembled a robust and talented Board of Directors who will help ensure a bright future for performing arts in the Southcoast,” said Rosemary Gill, Executive Director, Programming and Development, Zeiterion. “Along with co-executive director Justin LaCroix, we extend our gratitude to Peter Hughes for his steadfast leadership. We welcome Michael Tavares as Chair and look forward to his support, as well as the guidance of the new board during this exciting time for The Z.”

“The four terms I served as Chair of the Board for The Z have comprised one of the great privileges of my life,” said Peter Hughes. “Most of us know the tremendous cultural and economic impact of The Z on the community, but few have the opportunity to have an insider’s view of the staff’s tremendous talent and commitment, the dedication of the volunteers, and enthusiasm of the patrons that make it all work. The next few years will be exciting times for The Z and for New Bedford. Mike Tavares is the right leader to assume the Chair and ably guide the organization.”

“The Zeiterion Theater is the heartbeat of our city, and I am grateful and honored to have the opportunity to serve along with my fellow board members,” said Michael Tavares. “It’s an important organization to me and my family – my very first school field trip was to The Z. To now have the opportunity to lead its board is a tremendous privilege. From the world-class entertainment to the educational opportunities, The Z is at the forefront of our community and I am committed to the mission and place that the organization holds for Greater New Bedford.”

Born and raised in New Bedford, Tavares obtained his Bachelor of Science degree in Mechanical Engineering as well as his Master of Science Degree in Manufacturing Engineering from Northeastern University. He is the CEO of Horacio’s Inc, a full-service metal fabrication company that services clients nationwide for the food industry, HVAC design and installation, millwork services, and custom service. He took the reins of the company from his father Horacio in 2007 after an eight-year career with DePuy Orthopedics. Under his leadership, Horacio’s has continued to grow and add jobs to the area by diversifying into many additional areas of service. Tavares is very involved in the community, with specific attention to his Portuguese heritage. He currently resides in Freetown, Mass., with his wife Claudia, daughter Laura, and son Logan.